Posted by: Tom Triumph | October 9, 2010

111. Autumn Love: Li Ching Chao

If symbolism is your goal you can do no worse than explaining the seasons to your students.

Spring = birth
Summer = life
Fall = old age, passage, loss
Winter = death
Spring = rebirth (because winter can be death or simply loss or…. you get the idea).

This is a good one about loss. Notice the images that support the overall symbolism of autumn.

Autumn Love
Li Ching Chao

Search. Search. Seek. Seek.
Cold. Cold. Clear. Clear.
Sorrow. Sorrow. Pain. Pain.
Hot flashes. Sudden chills.
Stabbing pains. Slow agonies.
I can find no peace.
I drink two cups, then three bowls,
Of clear wine until I can’t
Stand up against a gust of wind.
Wild geese fly over head.
They wrench my heart.
They were our friends in the old days.
Gold chrysanthemums litter
The ground, pile up, faded, dead.
This season I could not bear
To pick them. All alone,
Motionless at my window,
I watch the gathering shadows.
Fine rain sifts through the wu-t’ung trees,
And drips, drop by drop, through the dusk.
What can I ever do now?
How can I drive off this word —
Hopelessness?

Leave a Reply

Categories

